ALUMO - Manufacturer of finest swiss cotton since 1918

Discover the products

Our Products

  • Supraluxe

    Poplin from NE 120/2 has been known for decades for its incomparably smooth feel, as well as its high durability and quality. Supraluxe is made of extra-long staple cotton with a fibre length of at least 35mm.

    Supraluxe Poplin Two-ply – our bestseller, valued all over the world for its quality and long life

  • Silvano

    Poplin and twill two-ply qualities from NE 140/2 stand for a distinctive fabric appearance with a very comfortable feeling against the skin.

    Silvano Poplin Two-ply with its outstandingly clear fabric appearance

  • Soyella

    Poplin and twill qualities from NE 170/2. The fineness of the yarn allows for uniquely elegant and ingenious designs with a silky soft touch. One gram of this yarn measures 145 metres in length – for a Soyella shirt you need at least 32‘630 meters of two-ply yarn.

    Soyella finest two-ply with unequalled softness and lustre

  • Soyella Duecento

    Silky soft fabrics from NE 200/2 for stunning designs. Exceptional fineness, 1000 metres of NE 200/2 yarn weigh just 5.88 grams.

    Soyella Duecento Two-ply – pure luxury for connoisseurs with its smooth, comfortable wear

  • Swiss Sea Island

    Poplin NE 120/2 woven from the extremely rare and prized Sea Island cotton which is known for its natural silky sheen, as well as durability and wear resistance.

    Sea Island Cotton Two-ply – made from rare cotton from the British West Indies

  • Voile Fantasia

    Airy voile from NE 100/2 with 80-90 grams per square metre gives a comfortable summery feel and optimal breathability.

    Voile Fantasia Two-ply – light and airy, a traditional article of the Swiss weaving industry

  • Plissé

    Two-ply plissé from NE 100/2 blends top weaving artistry with wearing comfort, thanks to the combination with light and airy voile qualities.

    Plissé – sophisticated tuxedo elegance combined with high-grade voile quality

  • Superior

    Durable extra-long staple two-ply quality from NE 100/2 with a weight of 110 grams per square metre provides comfort throughout the year. A gram of this yarn measures 85 metres in length.

    Superior – the poplin two-ply classic for every day

  • Cashmerello

    Consisting of 85% cotton and 15% pure cashmere. The 135 grams per square metre will pamper you in the cold weather with their ideal warmth and luxurious feeling.

    Cashmerello – luxurious cashmere feeling

Our Values

About us

History

Our own story dates back to the year 1918, when Carl Albrecht founded a weaving mill of the same name, with 48 looms. The textile industry had an excellent infrastructure even then, and Switzerland ranked amongst the pioneers in spinning and weaving technology. When Carl Albrecht handed the business over to his son in 1927, the company already had 84 looms and – with that same reliability that still distinguishes us today – successfully overcame economic crises and the Second World War. When Robert Morgen joined the company in 1941, the name was changed to Albrecht + Morgen, which was later abbreviated to the name we bear today: ALUMO. From the 1950s onwards, we have been specialised in the finest cotton fabrics for shirts and have continually developed our expertise. With our artisanal character, we continue to this day to make a significant contribution to the survival of a traditional Swiss craft. But equipped for the future with one of the most advanced weaving mills in Europe.

Tradition

We treasure our tradition and are carrying on the heritage. After all, it has successfully brought us to where we are today. To a place where the cotton industry flourished from 1730 onwards. In those days, there was a loom in almost every household in Appenzell and we still have those artisanal values in our genes.

Our machines have also preserved the techniques of the art of weaving that have been passed down and which, together with the blend of the yarn, are the secret of our unique quality. Our deep roots in the cultural characteristics of Switzerland have allowed us to outlive the movement to mass production. Just like a crystal in the globalised business world – steadfast and enduring.

Production process

To achieve our quality, valued all over the world, we keep hold of all the strings and carry out the whole production under our own roof. After carefully selecting extra-long staple cotton, we work it into the finest ply yarn which we then weave into our unparalleled fabrics.

For top-quality weaving, we guard our detailed knowledge of the fittings and adjustment of the machines as our best-kept secret. With an incomparably soft and natural finish, using clear mountain spring water, we perfect our fabrics to ALUMO quality which is second to none. This is evident in the fineness of the yarn from 100/2 to 240/2. The entire production process corresponds to the world’s strictest environmental and sustainability standards. For a distinctively smooth sensation on the skin.

Company

Since 1918, our ideas and products have been taking shape in the peaceful seclusion of the Swiss mountains. Our high-grade specialisation and cultivation of the art of weaving have turned us into a unique producer of both robust and delicate cotton fabrics in first-class quality. With Swiss values and local resources, we pursue our mission to supply to only the best shirtmakers, and to surpass their high expectations.

We concentrate on what is most worthwhile and create everything locally. We stock a great variety of designs in Appenzell for our loyal customers with whom we have a personal relationship. With our art of weaving excellent Swiss shirting, we resemble a rare mountain crystal which is the brightest light amongst the mass production around the world.

Contact

How to find us

Rare and much desired, but easy to find. Our manufacturing facility is situated right in the middle of one of the most traditional places in Switzerland, where we will be very happy to welcome you.

Alumo AG
Zielstrasse 38
9050 Appenzell
Switzerland

Contact us

ALUMO - Manufacturer of finest swiss cotton since 1918

Zu den Produkten

Unsere Produkte

  • Supraluxe

    Poplin aus NE 120/2 ist bekannt für seinen unvergleichlich weichen Griff und die seit Jahrzehnten hohe Lebensdauer und Qualität. Supraluxe ist aus Extra-Langstapel-Baumwolle gefertigt, mit einer Faserlänge von mindestens 35 mm.

    Supraluxe-Poplin-Vollzwirn – unser Bestseller, weltweit geschätzt für seine Qualität und Langlebigkeit

  • Silvano

    Poplin- und Twill-Vollzwirnqualitäten aus NE 140/2 stehen für ein sehr klares Warenbild mit äusserst angenehmem Tragegefühl und Komfort.

    Silvano – Poplin-Vollzwirn mit unvergleichlich klarem Warenbild

  • Soyella

    Poplin- und Twill-Qualitäten aus NE 170/2. Die Feinheit des Garns sorgt für unvergleichlich elegante und raffinerte Dessins mit einem seidig weichen Griff. 1 Gramm dieses Garns hat eine Länge von 145 Metern – für ein Soyella Hemd braucht man im Durchschnitt 32‘650 Meter Garn.

    Soyella – feinste Vollzwirne mit einzigartiger Weichheit und Brillanz

  • Soyella Duecento

    Seidig weiche Stoffe aus NE 200/2 für ausserordentlich kostbare Dessins. Eine einzigartige Feinheit: 1000 Meter des Garns NE 200/2 wiegen gerade mal 5,88 Gramm.

    Soyella Duecento-Vollzwirn – durch sein seidiges Traggefühl Luxus pur für Connaisseurs

  • Swiss Sea Island

    Poplin NE 120/2, gewebt aus der sehr seltenen und kostbaren Sea-Island-Baumwolle, welche für einen natürlichen Seidenglanz sowie Langlebigkeit und Strapazierfähigkeit steht.

    Sea-Island-Cotton-Vollzwirn – aus rarer Baumwolle von den British West Indies

  • Voile Fantasia

    Leichte Voiles aus NE 100/2 mit 80 bis 90 Gramm pro Quadratmeter sorgen für ein sommerliches Tragegefühl und optimale Atmungsaktivität.

    Voile-Fantasia-Vollzwirne – leicht und luftig, ein Traditionsartikel der Schweizer Webkunst

  • Plissé

    Vollzwirn-Plissés aus NE 100/2 vereinen höchste Webkunst mit hohem Tragekomfort, dank der Kombination mit den leichten, luftigen Voile-Qualitäten.

    Plissé – raffinierte Tuxedo-Eleganz, kombiniert mit hochwertiger Voile-Qualität

  • Superior

    Langlebige Extra-Langstapel-Vollzwirn-Qualität aus NE 100/2 mit einem Gewicht von 110 Gramm pro Quadratmeter, welche in jeder Jahreszeit für Komfort sorgt. Ein Gramm dieses Garns hat eine Länge von 85 Metern.

    Superior – der Poplin-Vollzwirn Klassiker für jeden Tag

  • Cashmerello

    Bestehend aus 85% Baumwolle und 15% reinem Cashmere. Die 135 Gramm pro Quadratmeter verwöhnen Sie in der kalten Jahreszeit mit optimaler Wärme und luxuriösem Tragegefühl.

    Cashmerello – luxuriöses Cashmere-Feeling

Unsere Werte

Über uns

Geschichte

Unsere eigene Geschichte geht zurück ins Jahr 1918. In diesem Jahr gründete Carl Albrecht die gleichnamige Zwirnmanufaktur mit 48 Webstühlen. Die Infrastruktur der Textilindustrie war damals schon hervorragend, und die Schweiz zählte zu den Vorreitern in der Spinn- und Webtechnologie. Bei der Übergabe an den Sohn 1927 betrieb die Firma bereits 84 Webstühle und konnte mit derselben Beständigkeit, die uns noch heute kennzeichnet, Wirtschaftskrisen und den Zweiten Weltkrieg erfolgreich überdauern. Mit dem Einstieg von Robert Morgen 1941 änderte sich der Name in Albrecht + Morgen, was später zu der Abkürzung und unserem heutigen Namen Alumo führte. Ab den 1950ern spezialisierten wir uns auf feinstes Baumwollgewebe für Hemden und erweiterten laufend unsere Kenntnisse. So tragen wir mit unserem Manufaktur-Charakter noch heute einen erheblichen Teil zum Überleben eines traditionellen Schweizer Handwerks bei – aber gerüstet für die Zukunft mit einer der modernsten Webereien Europas.

Tradition

Wir pflegen unsere Tradition und tragen sie weiter. Schliesslich hat sie uns mit Erfolg bereits dahin gebracht, wo wir heute stehen. An einen Ort, wo die Baumwollindustrie ab 1730 florierte. Damals stand in fast jedem Appenzeller Haushalt ein Webstuhl, und wir haben die handwerklichen Werte noch heute in den Genen.

Auch in unseren Maschinen stecken die überlieferten Verfahren der Webereikunst, die gemeinsam mit der Garnzusammensetzung das Geheimnis unserer einzigartigen Qualität sind. Unsere tiefe Verwurzelung in den kulturellen Besonderheiten der Schweiz liess uns die Entwicklung hin zur Massenfabrikation überdauern. Wie ein Kristall in der globalisierten Wirtschaftswelt – zuverlässig und beständig.

Herstellungsprozess

Für unsere weltweit geschätzte Qualität geben wir die Fäden nicht aus der Hand und behalten die gesamte Herstellung im eigenen Haus. Nach der erlesenen Auswahl extralangstapeliger Baumwolle verarbeiten wir sie zu feinsten Zwirnen, die wir zu unseren einmaligen Stoffen verweben.

Für eine Webtechnik auf höchstem Niveau hüten wir unser Detailwissen über die Einstellung und Ausrüstung der Maschinen als unser bestes Geheimnis. Mit einer unvergleichlich weichen und natürlichen Veredelung perfektionieren wir unsere Stoffe zur Alumo-Qualität, die ihresgleichen sucht. Diese zeigt sich in Garn-Feinheiten von 100/2 bis 240/2. Der ganze Herstellungsprozess entspricht den weltweit höchsten Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitsstandards. Für ein unverwechselbar sanftes Gefühl auf der Haut.

Unternehmen

Seit 1918 reifen unsere Ideen und Produkte in der Ruhe und Abgeschiedenheit der Schweizer Bergwelt. Unsere hochgradige Spezialisierung und Kultivierung der Webereikunst macht uns zu einem weltweit einzigartigen Hersteller robuster und filigraner Baumwollstoffe in höchster Qualität. Mit Schweizer Werten und lokalen Ressourcen halten wir ungebrochen daran fest, nur die besten Chemisiers auszustatten und deren hohe Ansprüche zu übertreffen.

Wir konzentrieren uns auf das Wertvollste und produzieren alles vor Ort. Für unsere loyalen Kunden, zu denen wir in persönlicher Beziehung stehen, lagern wir eine grosse Vielfalt von Dessins direkt in Appenzell. Mit unserer Produktion exzellenter Schweizer Stoffe sind wir wie ein seltener Kristall, der inmitten der weltweiten Massenfertigung aufs Hellste strahlt.

Kontakt

Der Weg zu uns

Selten und begehrt, aber doch einfach zu finden. Mitten in einem der traditionsreichsten Orte der Schweiz liegt unsere Manufaktur. Hier empfangen wir Sie herzlich gern.

Alumo AG
Zielstrasse 38
9050 Appenzell
Switzerland

Kontaktieren Sie uns